Spinach and Feta Stuffed Chicken

Spinach and Feta Stuffed Chicken

Another amazing recipe! As Patrick said “This is a meal you would order at a restaurant!” .

I decided to get a bit creative, I am trying to experiment with veggies since before my diet my go-to sides were french fries, mashed potatoes, chips, green beans and peas.

These days my sides range. Patrick has an amazing green bean recipe that makes me want to eat the entire fill of the saucepan. We have made brussel sprouts, mushrooms, broccoli, salads with homemade dressings and more! However, I have always used a recipe. I decided I wanted to try something new, I wanted to experiment! So I bought some broccoli, sliced it as thin as I could, tossed it in a very small amount of olive oil, garlic, red pepper flakes and a dash of freshly grated Parmesan, and then cooked it on a low heat while I prepared dinner. The broccoli was actually delicious! It really only takes some garlic and spice to win me over though. I know it is not complicated, but I feel proud that I tried something new and it came out so well!

Anyways, on to the recipe! This was from Skinny Taste , I realize now that I did a recipe from that site last week as well, but she has so many amazing recipes! This one I had pinned under my “Under 350 calories!” board for main dishes. It was actually pretty easy if you do all the chopping prep before you get started. As I have said before, I love easy and, honestly? You cannot BEAT 169 calories for your main dish. Hello!

Everyone really should check out her website. Using her recipes I seriously am eating away the pounds and loving every bite!

 Spinach and Feta Stuffed Chicken Breasts

spinach-and-feta-stuffed-chicken-breast-550x799
Skinnytaste.com (Photo from her site!)
Servings: 8 • Size: 1 roll • Points +: 4 pts • Smart Points: 3
Calories: 169 • Fat: 5 g • Carb: 8 g • Fiber: 2 g • Protein: 25 g • Sugar: 0 g
Sodium: 177 mg (without salt) • Cholest: 31 mg


Ingredients:

  • cooking spray or oil mister
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions
  • 10 oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and juice squeezed out
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill
  • 1/2 cup (2.5 oz) crumbled Feta cheese
  • 1/3 cup fat free ricotta
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt and pepper, plus more to taste
  • 8 thin skinless chicken breast cutlets (1.5 lbs total)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat seasoned breadcrumbs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a large baking sheet with spray.

Heat the oil a medium sauté pan. Add onions, garlic and scallions and sauté about 1 minute. Add spinach, parsley, dill, 1/4 tsp kosher salt and pepper and cook another minute or until heated through. Remove from heat and mix in the feta and ricotta cheese.

Season chicken lightly with more kosher salt and pepper to taste.

Place about 1/4 cup of spinach mixture in the center of the chicken and roll, then lay the chicken seam side down on a platter or piece of wax paper.
Repeat with the remaining chicken.

Whisk the egg and water together in a small bowl with a pinch of salt. Place the breadcrumbs in another bowl.

Dip the chicken rolls into the egg wash, then into the breadcrumbs and place seam side down on the baking sheet. Repeat with the remainder then lightly spray to top of the chicken with cooking spray. Bake about 25 minutes or until cooked through.

 

*Note: I skipped spraying the chicken with the cooking spray and it turned out delicious still!
I will try to pick a different site for next Friday, haha! BUT NO PROMISES! I am addicted ❤
Leave a Reply

