“The Best Goddamn Salad I Ever Had!”

“The Best Goddamn Salad I Ever Had!”

So my sister’s Gender Reveal Party was this weekend. I spent about 80% of my time helping prep for it, which included (but was not limited to) slow cooking two giant hunks of pork butt, hanging adorable onesies up on clotheslines, picking up a two-tiered cake (the star of the night!) and picking out a side dish to make.

Well, I felt a bit overwhelmed by all my duties… so I picked a random salad from Pinterest for my side dish. I thought ‘Hey, this sounds decent, easy and relatively cheap!’ .

Oh my god, I never expected a SALAD to get so much praise. Particularly a salad I put little to no thought into, FORGOT an ingredient for and one that required no effort other than slapping ingredients into a bowl! Seriously though, so many random people sought me out to either A) Explain how ‘To die for’ the salad was or B) Ask for the recipe!

Anyways, I wasn’t going to post the salad to my blog, but obviously it earned its keep.

All thanks and credit is due to Lemon Tree Dwelling . I do want to say I couldn’t actually find Golden Balsamic Vinegar, so I used a particularly delicious balsamic from HEB (click the link if you are curious). To make up for the change, I also added a bit more honey. At my sister’s request, I added a bit of salt to the dressing as well. OH, I also forgot the almonds (haha!), in the crazy of throwing it together five minutes before the food line was opened to fifty hungry souls.

Blueberry Feta Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing
*Photo from the website!
Prep time
10 mins
Total time
10 mins
Author: Cathy Trochelman
Ingredients
  • 6 c. mixed greens
  • 1 c. blueberries
  • 4 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • ¼ c. almonds
  • red onion slivers, to taste
  • For the Dressing:
  • ⅓ c. olive oil
  • ⅓ c. golden balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. poppy seeds
  • ¼ tsp. pepper
Instructions
  1. Layer salad ingredients in large salad bowl or platter.
  2. Prepare dressing by combining all ingredients in a container with a lid; shake vigorously to combine.
  3. Toss salad with dressing.
Leave a Reply

